An oddly entitled opinion on the DMR play style…

I’ve been playing Airsoft now for tapping on 6 years, I spent a very frantic initial 6 months on a TM Scar which I borrowed from a friend until buying my own Ares Amoeba M4. From that I very quickly romanticised about being a sniper and did a full VSR build. I took the role and really identified as an Airsoft Sniper although wasn’t keen on all the ghillie crafting, just opted to play medium-long length games, moving a lot and generally being first over the wall when attacking with pisotl drawn. I feel that having spent some 5 years in this play style I feel oddly entitled to judge my experience playing as a DMR for the first time, I’m no beginner yet still managed to make a few mistakes.

The base rifle

The build I opted for came off the back of a CQB obsession, new site locally, lots of hype, ran my stubby M4 and whilst it performed, I felt disadvantaged to when I used my pistols so with a Kythera in my hands, what else was there to build? I wasn’t going to sell it as it’d taken so long to get a hold of. The base rifle was a G&G CM16 SRXL. I opted for this as the SRS/Jack build went so well, it’s not ambi, decent polymer receiver and has a gearbox with alignment screws which I had experienced needing in the CQB build. The SRXL is not expensive either and whilst I could have upped the power in the base gun, the sites near me fall on a near 50/50 of DMR FPS being either 400 or 450 so adjustability was a factor for me.

As already mentioned, the engine inside this was the Polarstar Kythera, this is a mechanical HPA engine so the allure of not needing a battery for a solenoid was a big pull, it’s exceptionally frugal with it’s air usage and it is semi only, something which is a must if you are running DMR (also CQB near me funnily enough) so it fitted the bill fantastically.

Upgrades